Patrons arrive at The Hanover Theatre, ready to enjoy Broadway, concerts, comedy and more at one of finest performing arts centers in New England.


To ignite and nurture a passion for the performing arts in audiences and artists of today and tomorrow.

Our Vision

To be a dynamic downtown destination where all people can experience the transformative power of the performing arts.

About Us

Download a detailed brochure on the
history of The Hanover Theatre

Selected by POLLSTAR as one of the Top Theatres in the World, The Hanover Theatre and Conservatory for the Performing Arts is a 2,300 seat theatre that has entertained more than 2 million audience members. In 2008, The Hanover Theatre won a National Trust for Historic Preservation Award for its renovation and restoration of the original 1904 building. Since its renovation and reopening, the historic theatre continues to establish its place as an internationally recognized performing arts center and act as a catalyst for the economic development of downtown Worcester. 

The Hanover Theatre brings Broadway, music and more to Worcester, offering a variety of world-class artists and performances that have included "Kinky Boots," "Jersey Boys," Jay Leno, Jerry Seinfeld, Aretha Franklin, Tony Bennett, John Legend, Dr. Neil deGrasse Tyson, Disney Jr. Live and Alvin Ailey American Dance Theatre.

The Hanover Theatre’s space at 551 Main Street houses function rooms, offices and a growing conservatory that offers classes in acting, dance, music and technical theatre.

Read about current events
in our Behind the Scenes Magazine

Read our 2020 Report to the Community


Board of Directors

Steven G. Joseph, Chair
Lisa McDonough, Vice Chair
Charles R. Valade, Treasurer
Kristen Albright, Clerk
Marie A. Angelini, Esq.
Tracy Barlok
Thomas J. Bartholomew
Maureen F. Binienda
Lisa M. Carroll
Francesco Cesareo, PhD
Marianne E. Felice, MD
Ivan R. Green, MD
Kimberly A. Rozak, Esq.
Linda S. Larrivee, PhD
Richard W. Lavey
Helder Machado
Michael V. O'Brien
R. Norman Peters, Esq.
Edward Russo
Ellen Savickas
Troy Siebels
Carolyn J. Stempler
Thomas J. Sullivan
Kellie Thibodeau
Tracy V. Wells
Edwin Shea Jr.
Michael Sleeper

Honorary Director
Mary C. DeFeudis

Edward P. Madaus
Paul J. Demoga, Esq.

Board list updated 4/20/2020